Dr. Moore Responds

Thu Jan 9 15:05:49 2003

Some pretty harsh responses from this board. I suspected that would be a likely response. I have had a lot of experience with adhesions and it is a very frustrating problem. And I have done a lot of surgery to remove adhesions (in fact I did a laparoscopic lysis of adhesions today), with mixed results.

To dispel a few incorrect statements- 1) I am only 33, so my knowledge is not outdated. I finished residency in 1999.

2) Never did I say "Go home and deal with it" although this may be better advice than that given by some of the people on this website. You see the problem with "I did this and now I'm better" advice (called anecdotal evidence in medical terms) is that it just isn't valid.

A real scientific experiment involves a placebo arm, where patients are given similar treatment but without the "magical" cure or medicine. Because as all of you know some people don't form adhesions- this means that sometimes "nothing" works to prevent adhesions. And that's where barriers like Intercede (and probably this Spraygel) failed.

I always tell my patients that if a treatment is not proven to work, but works for them (eg herbal supplements) they should do it. As long as it is not super expensive (eg flying to Germany and paying out of pocket for surgery) and isn't harmful (like surgery can be). Dr. K should remember the first rule of medicine, Primum non nocere- first do no harm. And if his treatment works, then prove it. It's quite simple to prove medical therapies work, I would love to start using his techniques tomorrow if they worked.

Finally, do your own research. THE PLACE for researching medical literature is PUBMED. Here is the website, search for your self- the website gives you abstracts (short summaries of the experiments/clinical trials) and the original source so you can go to the library and look at the original articles. Here is the website:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi