New to the Message Board

Fri Feb 1 18:00:48 2002

Hello everyone, My name is Mary Lou, I am 57 and I am a nursing instructor. just found out about this site a few days ago and although I now have a self-diagnosis, I am so depressed to read about the severity of the pain all of you are suffering, and the lack of anything helpful except pain management. I realize that I have had adhesions for decades. Severe pelvic pain started in 1972, which was treated by ruling out pelvic mass by x-ray, and then having psychological therapy for years, with no let-up in the pain. In 1977, I got married and stop using birth control (IUD, which probably caused the initial adhesions) and found out that I was infertile because of adhesions of the fallopian tubes. I had unsuccesful reconstructive surgery for that , and we adopted two children (from Mexico and Korea). Both turned out to have severe learning problems and our son is also an addict, since age 11!. He is in recovery now and doing so-so but at least doesn't live with us any longer. Living with an active addict child for 9 years and another with chronic depression and suicidal episodes nearly did me in. Both are children are now stabilized and function fairly well most of the time. Three years ago, various women friends of mine I met in Alanon (Support group for family and friends of those who suffer from the disease of addiction began having cosmetic surgery of various types. They convinced me that I should do something for myself after the years I spent sacrificing and trying to save others from themselves (an impossible goal). They asked, "What have you always wanted but couldn't get? I responded, "A waistline". Thus, I had a cosmetic procedure called a abdominal and back lift, and have been in pain since, but it was tolerable until one month ago, when it became unbearable. The incision goes all the way around my torso, and it is all adhesed!!!!!!!!!Someone wrote on this message board that it felt like a turtle had bitten h