Re: I'm a newcomer

Fri Oct 8 17:26:39 1999

First, I need to tell you that I am not a medical professional. My comments (within your letter) are based on my personal experience with adhesions and the extensive research I have done.

At Fri, 8 Oct 1999, Deedra Climer wrote:

>I am 32 yo, hx of pid & gallbladder surgery. I was diagnosed with p.a. 4 years >ago when my ob/gyn told me that they are so extensive that my only option is >hysterectomy. One tube and ovary are adhered to my bowel, the other tube >and ovary are "totally obliterated".

**How did your ob/gyn arrive at a diagnosis of pelvic adhesions? Did you have a diagnostic laparoscopy?

>After finding mucous (sp)and blood in my stool and having increased bloating
>and pain, I went to the doctor yesterday and he has blown me off and
>sent me to a gastro. I guess a gastro could be helpful in determining
>if there is any obstruction. I am bummed.

**Your ob/gyn is sending you to a gastroenterologist, because the bowel is not the ob/gyn's surgical specialty. If you are passing blood in your stool, the proper diagnostic tests need to be done to find out what is causing this bleeding. If any of these tests show that you have a bowel problem that can and needs to be corrected, then your gastroenterologist will schedule you for surgery.

>The ob/gyn says that there is a good chance of a colostomy if he tried to >remove the adhesions from my bowels. Doesn't sound like fun to me. Anyone >have any thought on this?

**Your ob/gyn knows the risks (such as accidentally cutting into the bowel) that are very possible when it comes to removing adhesions from the intestines; and he knows that he has not been trained to do surgery on the bowels. He is doing the right thing.