My experience...Skilled & experienced laparoscopic surgeons...SprayGel....Australia and Germany.

Tue Sep 24 20:43:10 2002

I am not a medical professional; and the MANY doctors, whom I've sought help from, never ever prescribed pain medication for me. This does not mean that I did not experience horrific pain; because I did!! Instead of pain medications, Doctors prescribed tranquillizers, muscle relaxants and anti-depressant medications. I've been taking Amitriptyline (an anti-depressant) ever since September of 1976; and this drug really helped to reduce the level of the severe pain that began five days after a laparotomy in 1970. This drug also really helped me to be able to get restful sleep at night.

It took me 27 years to find a doctor, who would believe me when I told him I had been suffering with severe chronic pain; and he told me a diagnostic laparoscopy is the only way to know for sure if adhesions or endometriosis were the cause of my pain. ADHESIONS!! I had never heard of adhesions!! The only way endometriosis and adhesions can be diagnosed is via a surgical procedure - a diagnostic laparoscopy!! No other diagnostic test is able to diagnose these two painful conditions.

Every surgical procedure will cause adhesions!! Yes, that's true; because the formation of adhesions is how the body heals and protects itself. If the source of your pain is from any surgical procedure (including a tubal ligation or a hysterectomy or a C-section), there is a real possibilitiy that adhesions may be the cause of your chronic pain.

If you know that your pain resulted from a surgical procedure, perhaps having surgery with the use of the NEW SprayGel adhesion barrier ( http://www.confluentsurgical.com/ ) could make strong pain medications totally unnecessary!! SprayGel adhesion barrier is not available in the United States: but it is available in Germany and Australia.