A few words about the law...

Sun Jan 13 21:45:45 2002

First off, I'm not a lawyer, and I don't even play one on TV :-) but this is my understanding of how malpractice law and how it works.

First of all, you can't sue the US government (or any other government) for adhesions. The government has something called "sovereign immunity" where they are, for the most part, immune from any lawsuit even for their own negligence.

You can't sue the AMA, or the ACS (American College of Surgeons) or any other broad group of people. Many members of the AMA are not surgeons and have never done any surgery except to assist when they were back in med school and they truly have never caused anyone to have any adhesions. (Like dermatologists and psychiatrists...)