Re: 'Rough' Vaginal Ultrasound - now adhesions

Wed Aug 29 23:53:40 2001

Leighsa,

It sounds like you are very "stressed" about your condition and the proposed surgery. If your pain is in the neck & shoulders, it could be tension. I know that happens to me right before surgery and it can take a good half hour of my husband massaging my neck & shoulders to gain relief.

I am sorry that you have had such a bad experience with a vaginal ultrasound. I have had many, many ultrasounds over the last 16 years, and I can tell you that sometimes they can be quite uncomfortable, and othertimes, you don't even notice the intrusion.

I think that you also need to be aware of your rights as a patient. DONOT let a technician cause you so much pain and anguish. You have the RIGHT to ask the technician to stop the procedure & ask for someone else to do it.

Adhesion can be caused by so many things, including trauma, infection & surgery. I am not a Doctor, so I can not answer your question regarding the rough & painful ultrsound as the reason for your adhesions. I think that perhaps you need to talk to the doctor who is going to perform your surgery again. Write down your questions for him, and check them off after you feel he has given you a satisfactory answer to each one.

Ultrasound is a very useful diagnostic tool, and it can be quite effective when used by an experienced technician. Did the technician ask your permission before doing the vaginal ultrsound? I was under the impression that a vaginal ultrsound during pregnancy (especially during a suspected miscarriage) was deemed a risk. Please remember Leighsa, that I am not a Doctor, these are the impressions I have after so many years of constant ultrsound examination.

Just recently I needed to have a vaginal ultrasound to confirm a diagnosis of an ovary remnant cyst, it was painful, I was very sensative at the time. After the cyst had been drained I had another, which wasn't as uncomfortable.