Anne...Second-look laparoscopy....re-formed adhesions & de nova adhesions

Wed Jul 5 21:08:14 2000

I remember reading that Dr. J. Glenn Bradley, formerly with OBGYN.net, compares adhesions to cob webs - "cob webs" which are "easily swept down" within a week to ten days following a surgical procedure. I am not a medical professional; but I really wonder if it was a wise idea on the surgeon's part to "wash out adhesions" with "something like a water pik." I would think that just the force of the spray would be traumatic to the soft tissues within our body.

Laparoscopy surgery in and of itself can cause adhesions. If any debris ( blood ) from the laparoscopic procedure is left within the abdominal cavity, the result is the development of adhesions!! To me, it would seem plausible that, instead of "washing out the adhedilin (?) tissue", the force of the spray may have helped to introduce debris from the surgery further into the abdominal cavity...thus contributing to de nova adhesions De nova adhesions are new adhesions, which form away from the surgical site.

From: Anne Hayashi (mhaya0902@aol.com) Wed, 5 Jul 2000 19:19:27 -0500