Will this never end?

Fri Aug 1 21:08:55 2008

From: adhesions@adhesions.org [mailto:adhesions@adhesions.org] On Behalf Of Rebecca M Sent: Friday, July 25, 2008 5:47 PM Subject: Re: Will this never end?

Hi Everyone,

I am brand new to the site and I have to say that it is great to have some support. I'm 29...okay 30 in two weeks :-(...but I just found out I have adhesions last year. I am a graduate student studying psychology. From this experience I have learned what it is like to not be taken seriously,  made to feel like you're over-reacting, and to be dismissed as someone whose pain is "in her head." I started questioning myself and whether it really was in my head. I talked to my colleagues, I talked to my family, my friends, anyone who would listen. No one knew about adhesions. I think some still think I'm crazy! One thing I take with me from this experience is what it may be like for my future clients who have not been taken seriously by previous therapists. I am going to listen!

For months before I was diagnosed, I had suffered from a mysterious and very uncomfortable pain in my right side and it took weeks and weeks of testing and different docs. before they did a laproscopic procedure. The results from that showed "extreme dense adhesions in the abdominal, bowel, and pelvic regions," (that's what the medical record stated). They found cysts, fluid, and that my liver was attached to my abdominal wall by the adhesions.