Post-Surgical Adhesions???

Sat Apr 26 17:22:38 2003

This is my first time here and, although I am a guy, I am searching for answers about the pain like so many of you that I have read about in this forum. I probably don't belong in this group, but PLEASE hear me out and offer ANY advice.

Last August, my family doctor sent me in for a CT scan to try and find out about some recurring kidney stone problems. What he discovered instead has turned my whole life upside down. I have bilateral renal cell carcinoma (malignant tumors on both kidneys). The first urologist and oncologist felt that it was inoperable. The tumor on the right side was 4 inches in diameter and the left one was 6 inches and had spread into the adrenal gland and some regional lymph nodes (stage IIIB cancer). They referred me to a larger regional clinic, which was a blessing from above. They did immediate surgery to remove the tumor and about 1/3 of the right kidney. Six weeks later, they performed a radical nephrectomy on the left side, removing the whole kidney, adrenal gland, some lymph nodes, and some surrounding tissue. The surgeon then put me under the care of an oncologist to deal with the possible further spread of the cancer.