Re: New to the list.....informaiton about adhesions & infertility for Mindy Holt

Sat Oct 26 13:49:34 2002

Dear Mindy, Please read my response within your message.

I will also be posting this on the IAS Message Board.

Helen D.

Re: New to the list; From: Mindy Holt (mindyholt@fewpb.net); Fri Oct 25 12:53:00 2002

I found this list recently and decided to join to ask a few questions. I am interested in finding out info about adhesions related to infertility. I have been trying to conceive for over 3 years. In 1985, at 17 years old, I had Gall Bladder surgery. The Dr. said that it was diseased.

H> I'm not a medical professional; but you developed adhesions as a result of your gall bladder surgery. Adhesions do not always appear soon after surgery. Adhesions are also known to cause problems years later!! Surgery is a trauma to the body; and any blood left within the abdominopelvic cavity will cause adhesions to form. As the body attempts to heal and protect itself it forms adhesions; and adhesions will cause internal organs to stick to one another.

A few years ago I started having some abdominal pain on my right side. After being tortured with different uncomfortable procedures, I found out that the pain was caused by adhesions. My OBGYN did a laparoscopy a year and a half ago. I was excited because the pain went away for about 8 months!!!!! He reported that I had sigmoid mesocolonic adhesions of the left pelvic brim and dense ileocecal adhesions to the right sidewall. He said that part of my bowel was attached to the muscles in my abdomen. This was the same spot that I reported having pain.