Re: Pain Center: Common Questions Asked by Patients

Thu Sep 5 01:19:55 2002

Hi To Everyone!!!

My name is Chrissy and I live in North Jersey and I am new to the grooup. My story is on the Adhesions Quilt. My Email address is: Roses4chrissy2@aol.com, you all can write directly to me, if you choose to!!! :) I just wanted to make a comment on this email I received today in my email, regarding : "Why Pain Clinic's Do Not Believe In Narcoctic Medication." Well, firstly I am in Pain Management and I am on narcoctic medication's to control my chronic/everyday pain from adhesions that I have. I have been on the drugs called: Oxycontin and Oxycodone> Oxycontin - is 40 mg at 6am and then I take a 20 mg at around 10AM and again at 2or4pm , then I take my evening dose of the 40 mg at 6pm. The Oxycodone is a 5mg instant pain relief pill for - only when I have breakthrough pain , while being on the Oxycontin. I hate being on these pills , as I am totally addicted, depdant on them as well as, them being my:"Quality of Life In A Bottle!!!" This really stinks for me because, I have found absolutely NO SURGEON THAT WILL OPERATE ON ME TO REMOVE MY ADHESION'S FROM MY BOWEL/INTESTINES, AND MOSTLY MY SECUM AND SIGMOID COLON!!!!!!! All the surgeons that I have went to see and meet to discuss doing this operation for me. I was told that their is: NO WAY THEY WILL OPERATE BECAUSE MY CASE IS VERY , OR SHALL I SAY- IMPOSSIBLE TO PERFORM!!!!! Reason being, is my adhesion's are so bad , that when or if they were to go in to remove them and some of my bowel, it would be litterally impossible, due to them not being able to visualize my organs underneath these adhesion's of mine. They could very easily cut right into my bowel/intestines, main arteries and then I would be in big trouble and die on the opeating table. I could possibly wake up with , either 1 or 2 colostemy bags ...FOR LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :( :( :(. I hate being on these narcoctic pills to control this pain, so I can live, but