How can endo go undetected so long if the docs can look at our hormone levels?...for Janet Karam

Thu Sep 6 17:52:02 2001

Dear Janet K.

My comments are within the message you posted yesterday.

Dear Helen D., Janet Karam: I am interested in this hormone testing for endo?...a little confused because of your Dialogue with Kathy R.. How can endo go undetected so long if the docs can look at our hormone levels to see if it is active, or is it only in comparison with an individual's against her own "norm".

~ ~ ~

My comments: As you know I am not a medical professional! Today I did a search using the Search words: "Hormone testing"; and I posted several selected topics that I thought may provide an clue to your question - as well as help you and others become more familiar with the topic of "Hormones".

I'm not sure that I have an answer to your specific question; but my best guess is that Drs. simply do NOT routinely check hormone levels - unless their patient presents with symptoms that Dr. suspects may be related to elevated hormone levels.

I do know that when an endo patient's estrogen level is elevated, this excess estrogen will begin to "feed" the endo implants (as it normally does during the menstrual period). Even if the patient doesn't have any reproductive organs left, I believe that estrogen will continue this pattern of internal bleeding. I know that there are certain foods that provide the body with estrogen (Read the list of Antagonists that I posted ). Endometriosis thrives on estrogen; and as a result, endo implants will cause bleeding, the patient will develop scar tissue (or adhesions) and consequently experience more pain