Re: Clinical Trials and the FDA--Reply from Cathy Barnes

Thu Jun 7 21:50:03 2001

I am very new to ADHESIONS and I want to introduce myself. I am here because I had a laprasocopic sigmoid colon resection in July 99 that went terribly wrong…I leaked at the staples..peritonitis…emergency surgery…temporary colosotomy (4 months), a takedown (incomplete), an iliostomy (for 5 weeks) and then finally a RECONNECTION!!! –January 2000. Yeah yeah!!

But as the saying goes…nothing is for nothing. I have had 3 episodes in the last 9 months of blockages/adhesions. It is not a pleasant experience as I am sure you are all aware of. I am currently on an ostomy listserv and a dizzinews listserv. The ostomy list is obvious. I am on the dizzinews list is because I was permanently damaged by gentamicin IV and it is called bilateral vestibular dysfunction. I have about 10% remaining of my balance system.

I work full time as an Admin Asst for an education association in North Carolina. I want to work and keep working. If I had to stay home every day, I would go nuts!

I am so happy I found this site because I need to be able to talk with people who are experiencing the same discomfort/pain that I experience periodically. I have about ½ my colon left. I had every complication in the book (so I am told). I unfortunately have times of severe butt burn. I must be very careful not to get constipated. When that happens I am very likely to have a blockage.

I may not be making much sense now. It is rather late in the evening for me. Will write again tomorrow night.

Peace and Love to all, Cathy Barnes, North Carolina

PS I don’t have much faith in the FDA—this gentamicin that has damaged me comes into the USA without regulations on its components. There were instances of tainted components that came in to the USA from Chins in 1999. Interesting----don’t you think?